Adventures in Reading


Is Bookophile a Word & Other Ponderings
November 9, 2007, 6:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I began writing today’s post and in the first sentence I referred to myself as a “bookophile.” This is a word I have seen often throughout literary blogs and internet communities and always assumed meant a lover and collector of books. However, after looking at Dictionary.com, Meriam-Websters Online, Online Etymology Dictionary, Urban Dictionary, Wiktionary, and the Oxford English Dictionary I can find no definition or information on the word “bookophile.” However, a Google search provides more than 5,000 hits for the word, which makes me assume it does exist, but not officially it seems.

Of late my reading habits have been progressing quite slowly as a result of somewhat book related matters in my life. First, my book collection has taken over my house and the stacks have become hazardously high. I have been forced to find a larger abode to house my growing library. This is only mostly in jest as there certainly is a grain of truth about those hazardous stacks. However, since November I have been searching for a new home and have finally found the perfect place. The move includes the addition of a sixth bookshelf, and this will hopefully buy me time before I have to consider a seventh. However, over the next few weeks I will most likely be posting before and after pictures of my bookshelves.

Secondly, I gave in and began cataloging my books. After playing and fiddling with a variety of online or downloaded book applications, I decided that over all it would simply be easier to go about it the old fashioned way and create an Excel form and enter my own information. The two deciding factors in this are the reliance of many of these programs on the ISBN number, which books (for the most part) prior to the 70s do not have, and that the printable list of books seldom includes a physical comment on the book (such as if the book is a mass market book or has library binding). I have been cataloging roughly 40 books a day and it has been rather enjoyable. I have come across some books I had no idea I owned and some books I have managed to get four copies of.

Finally, and this is the big one, I began looking for a literacy group to volunteer with and I successfully found one. In less than an hour I will be breakfasting with members of the group to discuss the organization’s goals as well as my training. For years I have not had much luck with volunteering, but working with a literacy campaign seems perfect for me. Once the training starts I am sure that I will have the occasional posts about what I am up to as a literacy volunteer.

5 Comments

“Old bibliophile’s never die, they just read away!” Volunteering is amiable and I commend you for your efforts. I collect books for young readers through my employer and feel great everytime I encourage a donation. I hope it is a great experience for you too.

Comment by Laurel Ann

I think you mean “bibliophile.”

Also:

“Bibliophilia is the love of books. Accordingly a bibliophile loves books, but especially “for qualities of format”. A bookworm loves books for their content, or otherwise loves reading in general. Bibliophilia is generally considered to be incorrect, but some would say it is a new, recent, usage. The practice of loving or collecting books is dubbed bibliophilism, and the adjective form of the term is bibliophilic. Also, a bibliophile may be a book collector.” (more)

Comment by Claire C. Cake

Laurel: It was a wonderful meeting and everyone was very enthusiastic to have me join the organization. All of the members have amazing credentials, but I am by far the youngest member by a few decades. I am very much looking forward to participating in literary activities.

Claire: bibliophile does seem to be the term I am looking for, though bookophile does appear to be a bastardization of it. Thank you for the link!

Comment by bookchronicle

I wanted to use the word Bookophile and thought I’d check it out first. This, your posting came up first and I’m glad it did. I used it in my book listing anyway even though it really isn’t a word. I like it and someday it might be accepted.

Concerning stacks of books I’ve been trying to convince my wife that books stacked in inverted pyramids are an art form and should be considered as decorations.

She isn’t buying it.

I know this posting is from quite a while ago and perhaps you have already found it but in case you haven’t AbeBooks has a free program called Homebase that is designed for listing books for sale. Just wondering if it would work for you even though it appears you are not doing book sales right now. It might wok for you somewhere down the road.

GBYAY – Paul -

Comment by prying1

I also was searching if “bookophile” was actually a word and you post popped up. I couldn’t remember bibliophile, but thankfully now do.

I just wanted to comment that your post was an enjoyable read (especially for someone building up their own library) and that I, too, applaud your volunteer efforts.

hype – Chelsea -

Comment by hyper426




Comments are closed.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

