Adventures in Reading


Book Jackets for Clarissa
September 23, 2007, 5:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I must say that I am quite the picky shopper when it comes to book covers and often find myself reluctant in actually purchasing a book if I do not think the cover is adequate. A prime example of this: Samuel Richardson’s Clarissa; or, The History of a Young Lady. The edition I am reading from is the Everyman edition circa 1967 (I believe) and it is four books and each has a hot pink cover (really) with a brief visual of the plot on the cover. As I have been enjoying the book as much as I have I would really like to purchase my own copy (and as the library tends not to approve of people writing in their books) but I have been quite disappointed with the selection.

The only two covers I have seen at bookstores in my area are the Penguin Classics Edition (Unabridged) and the Signet Classics Edition (Abridged). I certainly do not want an abridged version of the text but I cannot say I like the Penguin Classics Edition. Of course I turned to my friend the Internet to see what else was available to me and found these little gems (it comes up as unabridged though it seems rather short), which are described as, “This Elibron Classics book is a facsimile reprint of a 1768 edition published in London”:

I am at a loss whether I should love or hate this cover, but I am decidedly disappointed with all of the Clarissa’s I have found.

1 Comment

[…] it at work and initially thought it was a copy of Clarissa (i.e. my love/hate relationship with the atrocious cover). However, Two Histories of England by Jane Austen and Charles Dickens are satiric histories of […]

Pingback by Two Histories of England: By Jane Austen & Charles Dickens « Adventures in Reading




Comments are closed.



