Adventures in Reading


Fiction: The Neverending Story by Michael Ende, 1979
October 12, 2007, 5:51 am
Filed under: book reviews, fiction

One rainy and overcast afternoon I decided I really ought to watch the film The Neverending Story and enjoy all the childhood flashbacks I can on such an afternoon. Of course, I was at work for an eight hour shift and it was highly unlikely that they would allow me to leave to spend an afternoon reminiscing over movies. A co-worker reminded me of Michael Ende’s book The Neverending Story (1979) that the film is based on and I immediately gave in to the impulse purchase and I do not regret it in the least.

I recently wrote about the book in an online community and here is what I said:

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende is a frame story that alludes to the power and magic of children clapping for Tinker Bell so she does not die in the Peter Pan play. The book suggests that a fantasy world of everyone’s hopes, dreams, nightmares, and fantasies exists in a world called Fantastica that humans can access through books and stories. Ende plays with idea of nihilism as a great “nothing” sweeps through Fantastica because people in the human world no longer believe in anything fantastical. The first half of the book a human named Bastian steals the book The Neverending Story and falls in love with the characters only to have to become involved in the story half way through to save the world of Fantastica.

The second half of the book Bastian is in Fantastica and it has a much darker connotation that alludes to ideas of Christianity and being reborn. Bastian must find his way back to the human world, learn how to love and share love, before he entirely forgets his memory. After saying all of this, The Neverending Story is a children’s book and is a terrific adventure, but Ende carefully places distinctly more adult themes into the plot making it an enjoyable read for all ages.”

I you loved the movie you will undoubtedly love the book.

Other opinions: Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’?

1 Comment

[…] really wanted to love The Princess Bride. I wanted to set it next to The Neverending Story as an oft returned to fantasy tale. And it’s certainly not all bad: I adore Mad Max and Valerie […]

Pingback by The Princess Bride by William Goldman « Adventures in Reading




Comments are closed.



