Adventures in Reading


Literary Observations on the Internet
November 14, 2007, 2:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

A few months ago I joined LibraryThing (for free) to track what books I had read for the 50 Book Challenge, and I was really quite pleased with the cataloging ability of the site but I was truly partial to the networking aspect. After finally getting around to checking my e-mail I found a new and exciting function: Early Reviewers. Being an Eary Reviewer allows you to sign up to get Advanced Reading Copies (ARC) of books and then you post your opinion about them. So, anyone interested should definitely head over.

My other exciting find of the day is that one of my favorite authors Roddy Doyle will have a short story collection title The Deportees out January 10th. I know what will be kicking off my year of reading…

3 Comments

I was just introduced to http://worldcat.org/. it seems to be very popular and maybe you’ve already heard of it.

Comment by mysebrel

The early reviewer thing is a great concept…but I think I signed up for the dregs! All the good stuff (including a book of bitter, misanthropic aphorisms) have been taken!

Comment by Monica McFawn

Monica: I really do love the early reviewer and the possibilities involved with it, (i.e. someone besides the NY Times Book Review or Publisher’s Weekly can spread their opinion) but I think you are right: there was not a lot left last I checked! Hopefully if this takes off for LibraryThing more books will be offered.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



