Adventures in Reading


Black Friday

Working at a bookstore on Black Friday actually is not too bad. Believe it or not, no one pitches tents outside the night before opening and the police are seldom called in (we saved those shenanigans for the Harry Potter release nights). More than anything today was like a busy Friday or Saturday night but with one exception: it is the time of year where non-book people come out shopping for book people. The result tends to be a lot of confusion and frustration for both the bookseller and customer. The season, however, is only starting and my fingers are crossed that the remainder of the year will go just as smoothly.

Reading wise I have quite a bit going on right now. I am speedily working my way through rereading Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov and am somewhat more slowly pacing my way through Emma by Jane Austen. Emma has been the first book for me by Austen where I struggled to get through the introductory chapters. In addition, I have two more books sitting on the backburner: They Shoot Horses, Don’t They? by Horace McCoy and The City of Dreaming Books by Moer. Happy reading every one!

2 Comments

I got through Black Friday too, but compared to Potter madness it was milk toast. The fenzy does tend to build as we near the 24th though, and I am really grateful for those volunteer Girl Scouts who wrap, and wrap and wrap those books!

The oddest question I had was early in the day from a customer who wanted to know where the free food was! Ok, … that’s a new one! Most non-book pep’s what to know where the bathroom is! So, this was a refreshingly original approach to having to walk into a bookstore when you have no interst in reading or know anyone who does! Ha!

Sold 3 The Complete Novels of Jane Austen today and like orpahn kittens, they are going to good homes.

Take care, LA
austenprose.wordpress.com

Comment by Laurel Ann

Laurel Ann: Thank goodness for the wrappers! My own wrapping is atrocious and I can only imagine the lines if we had to wrap ourselves. The strangest question I had was along the lines of, “a book was recommended to me… I think it might have a red cover.” Fortunately after some questioning I deduced she meant Phillipa Gregory. While I did not sell any Austen per say, I did meet quite a few Austen-addicts looking for the many sequels and spin-offs. I sold two copies of Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



