Adventures in Reading


November’s Books
December 2, 2007, 2:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

I have so many posts brewing in my head and so little time to write lately! I did want to make sure I posted a November overview (I can hardly believe it is already December – where has the time gone?) The books in bold are those I would recommend and the books are linked with my commentaries:

The City of Dreaming Booksby Walter Moers, They Shoot Horses, Don’t They? by Horace McCoy, A Golden Ageby Tahmima Anam, The Deluxe Transitive Vampire by Karen Elizabeth George, Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, Click by Park, Ben, In the World by Doris Lessing, The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman, The Fifth Child by Doris Lessing, Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Flannery O’Connor’s Complete Stories.

Last evening I had friends and neighbors over, and I always find it fascinating to see which books attract which person. It ranged from pretentious to delightful, which all in all made it a pleasant evening. Starting on the sixth of this month I am also going to be spending a great deal of time learning Spanish, which means that my amount of reading time will be slipping away. Over the last few months I have practically allowed myself to gorge myself on books, but I have other things vying for my attention now.

1 Comment

It is the same with me. These days I look lovingly at my stacks of books, but the real world has come knocking at my door, forcing me to pay attention to work, family, and the holiday season. Ah, how I yearn for those long, lazy months during the summer when I was a student. Back then, I would read a book a day.

Comment by Ms. Place




Comments are closed.



