Adventures in Reading


The Reading Woman Series
December 17, 2007, 12:23 pm
Filed under: thoughtful

Yesterday was my first post in a new weekly series: The Reading Woman. What inspired this was a recent gift that was given to me. This gift was a weekly planner called The Reading Woman and every few pages or so has a picture of a painting of a woman reading. I was thrilled with this! (And after all, how appropriate for me.) I quickly scanned the entire planner to look at all the images and was impressed at those I was familiar with and glad to become acquainted with those paintings I did not know. This quick perusal peeked my curiosity to see what other works of art representing women reading were available, and I spent a few enjoyable hours Sunday morning fluttering through the pages of my old art history books. I was amazed that in such a short period (in addition to those pictures from the planner) the amount of paintings I had come across amounted to just under one hundred. Rather than keeping this pleasant discovery to myself I decided that a weekly post would do nicely.

Comments Off on The Reading Woman Series





Comments are closed.



