Adventures in Reading


Holiday Treats
December 28, 2007, 7:11 am
Filed under: book reviews, nonfiction

I realized over the holidays how easy it is to become sucked into electronic things. Expecting a few lazy days off of work, I packed Radcliffe’s The Mysteries of Udolpho but after three days I did not even touch the book. Instead I spent hours watching The Real Housewives of Orange County and playing various Star Wars games on Play Station 2. What I learned is that it is far too easy to get sucked into bad television and that I am one bad ass sniper in the world of Star Wars. When at home I have no cable television and no game consoles, and a great chunk of my free time is thus dedicated to reading. It is wonderful entertainment, but I admit it is more demanding than mindlessly watching hours and hours of a Housewives marathon.

Usually I avoid the entire diet book/weight loss section fiasco. In my experience, the majority of these books suggest rather ridiculous (if not dangerous) plans to lose weight. Especially at this time of year it is no surprise that a tidal wave of weight loss books have hit the shelves. Today was my first day back and there are many new books and re-releases available. However, I did stumble across one diet book that actually sparked my interest and one I could comfortably recommend to people.

Julia Cameron’s The Writing Diet works on the novel premise that if you are exerting creative powers and producing art that this flow of creativity will replace unnecessary food cravings. In her introduction, Cameron comments that weight loss has been a long time byproduct of her writing classes. She admits that she is no nutritionist or dietitian, but that her students have regularly experienced physical change when they have engaged themselves more creatively.

While I have not read the book I scanned it and overall it seems to be quite the interesting idea. Cameron suggests a series of steps and I can recall the first three. One: daily stream of conscious writing. Two: journal about what you eat, but not just what you are eating – expand and write odes to your grape nuts. [1] Three: find time to take walks to get more creative juices flowing. There is more to it and if you are interested I suggest you pick up the book, but in comparison to most other diet trends and fads I find this diet fascinating. If nothing else the end result will be creative production.

[1] Okay, no where did I see Cameron suggest writing odes to any fruits, vegetables, animals, or minerals, but the key is to be creative and not all entries can be list poems.

1 Comment

Interesting concept. I’ll step up the pace of my writing. Thanks.

Comment by WC




Comments are closed.



