Adventures in Reading


The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike
February 13, 2008, 4:41 pm
Filed under: book reviews, fiction
“‘And oh yes,’ Jane Smart said in her hasty yet purposeful way; each s seemed the black tip of a just-extinguished match held in playful hurt, as children do, against the skin. ‘Sukie said a man has bought the Lenox mansion.'” From John Updike’s The Witches of Eastwick.

With so many other novels collecting dust and so much reading before me I still sacrificed a few moments to begin John Updike’s The Witches of Eastwick. Between my one Spanish class this semester, working full time, and becoming unashamedly addicted to the BBC series Ballykissangel, I have not sat aside a great deal of time for reading. However, I stumbled acrossed it while hunting for a Gail Tsukiyama novel and recalling my enjoyment of the film adaptation I gave in. Here’s to impulse reading!

This was my first Updike novel and I gave up on page fifty. I have nothing particularly scathing to say about it, but I admit I doubt I was in much of the right mood for it. From the knowledge I have gathered from those fifty pages and the film, The Witches of Eastwick is about three women, all witches, living in modern day Eastwick, Rhode Island when the Devil moves into a local mansion.

Within these fifty pages I will say that I was not partial to Updike’s writing style and his dialog kept getting lost in the description. I also cannot say I was much of a fan of his interpretation and representation of women. They really did not seem much like women at all. Strike two on a book this much – hopefully my next book will be a bit more enjoyable.

Comments Off on The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike





Comments are closed.



