Adventures in Reading


And now for some bits and pieces from work…
February 14, 2008, 4:47 pm
Filed under: thoughtful

My advanced reading copy collection is slightly less dismal with the addition of Margaret Atwood’s short story collection Moral Disorder and Other Stories. While I have no idea when I will have time to actually read it, I believe this is my second truly exciting find on the freebie shelf.

A customer asked my manager when the next Jane Austen novel would be out, which my manager relayed to me in full amusement the morning after. This is actually a fairly regular question when old classics from deceased authors reappear with a new cover or receive some publicity. It always creates a moment of indecision while you stumble for words without making the customer seem too silly.

And finally, I met a woman with what was to me a terrifying malady: she is allergic to books. At first I thought she was kidding me, you might be surprised how often customers lie, but within moments this woman was breaking out in hives. Apparently the mixture of paper, dust, etc. causes quite a sever reaction in some. I was not at all surprised to find out that she is the proud owner of an eBook/Kindle.

4 Comments

How awful to be allergic to books! What did the lady do before eBooks/Kindle? Books on tape? What was she doing in a bookstore; either’s she’s very brave or she’s committing attempted suicide.

Comment by T Y

I second T Y’s question: why on Earth would you go into a bookstore if you are allergic to books?!

Comment by Claire C. Cake

It does seem strange that she would go to a bookstore if she is allergic to books. Luckily, I’m addicted to, not allergic to books.

Comment by Georgie Lee

TY, Claire, and Georgie: She actually came into the store to purchase gift cards to give to a friend. I was sure to comment that she must really, really, really love and admire this friend.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



