Adventures in Reading


Happy Leap Year
February 29, 2008, 4:23 pm
Filed under: thoughtful | Tags: , , , , ,
k-porter-stamps.jpg

I have read little during the final week of February. With my neighbors moving (what a raucous!), being distracted by must see classic films like Chinatown (phenomenal), and catching up on television series everyone but myself have seen like the BBC’s new Robin Hood (from what I have seen a horrendous play on Xenia and Hercules), I have been quite distracted from my reading stack. Despite this, I have managed to accumulate some new books: Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris ($1), The Kreutzer Sonata by Tolstoy (50¢), Visitors by Anita Brookner (50¢), Out on the Autumn River: Selected Poems of Du Mu (free), and Wolf Note by Libby Jacobs (free).

During this time I have also settled on some further book and reading goals for the year: (1) I cannot purchase any books for myself from the bookstore or from Amazon until November and, this is the big one too, (2) my Reading Challenge for 2008 is to read one book a month that I already own. Constantly my fellow book obsessed friends grimace at the idea of the amount of books they own compared with how many they have actually red in their collection. If I can only add twelve more books to my “have read” oeuvre than I will be quite pleased.

Thus far for 2008 I can claim: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Little Women and Persuasion.

Comments Off on Happy Leap Year





Comments are closed.



