Adventures in Reading


Pop Literature
March 14, 2008, 5:33 pm
Filed under: thoughtful

One thing I have learned in my library experience is that if you wait until Saturday night to browse for videos there is usually quite a limited selection. However, peeking out from the shelf was a copy of The Devil Wears Prada and I couldn’t resist if only because of my adoration for Meryl Streep. While I have not read the book, and did not particularly have any desire to read it, I went for the video anyway.

About half way through I arrived at the distinct impression that it was a cross between Bridget Jones Diary and Miss Congeniality with a dash of Vogue fashion. In short: I hated Anne Hathaway’s character but absolutely adored Meryl Streep. I must admit though, my curiosity has been peeked and I am becoming more intrigued by the book (though I have been informed it is quite different).

While I have a tendency to steer away from most “pop literature” (often expecting disappointments such as when I read Meg Cabot’s Queen of Babble), of late I keep thinking about picking up something light and fun. I nearly checked out the latest Oprah book club book A New Earth by Eckart Tolle the other afternoon.

Comments Off on Pop Literature





Comments are closed.



