Adventures in Reading


Books News on the Home Front
March 26, 2008, 7:49 am
Filed under: thoughtful

Unfortunately I missed my last One Book meeting because of work. However, three of my lovely co-members contacted me and informed me what I had missed. I was pleasantly pleased that one of the librarians on the committee had finally spoken up about the age appropriateness issue we were facing (an issue I had obviously been hedging at but had not yet pointedly addressed) and pointed out that last year high schoolers had not even been that interested in participating with this novel.

The book selection did finally reach a consensus on four books to consider: Snow Falling On Cedars [1], Nisei’s Daughter, When The Emperor Was Divine, and The Samura’s Garden. What is interesting in particular about this reading group is that each member will be rating the novels and eventually listing them from most to least preferred. I can honestly say that I have never done this with a group of novels and I am quite excited.

However, another book related project has surpassed my excitement for the One Book choice. My partner (also an English major) and I are reading The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck together. Despite dating for nearly three years and living together for nearly one we have yet to read a book together. It seems as I cannot find a book club to join to save my life I am simply going to have to establish my own. My fingers are crossed that this project will continue and I can talk him into reading No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy after we finish Steinbeck.

And talking about McCarthy, I finally got around to seeing the film No Country For Old Men (I still haven’t read the book) and it was amazing! I love the Coen brothers and Javier.

[1] Snow Falling On Cedars had been thrown out earlier from the book decision process, but was returned to the option list after the age appropriateness issue had been addressed.

1 Comment

I just recieved “Snow Falling on Cedars” from my grandmother. She said it was chosen for her book club and she loved it. Let me know if its chosen for yours and I’ll begin to read it.

Comment by Mys Ebrel




Comments are closed.



