Adventures in Reading


Eragon the Movie
April 5, 2008, 3:13 pm
Filed under: thoughtful

I’m usually quite excited to see the film adaptation of a book. I tend to be careful in what I expect: not exactly the book verbatim but also not my idea of an adaptation. For Eragon, I had never read the book, though it has been much recommended, and wasn’t sure what I was getting into. It was terrible! Despite my love and adoration for fantasy movies at all ends of the spectrum (including ridiculously bad) I could not stomach Eragon and turned it off half way through. I have been assured that the book is the far superior option, but I may continue to stick with other reading material.

2 Comments

You are not the first person that has said this. I’ve heard from numerous people (who love the book) that the movie is horrible.

I just bought the book at my library book sale the other day. It might be a while before I read it though.

Comment by Mys Ebrel

Mys Ebrel: My co-worker, who heartily suggests Eragon to anyone who stands still long enough, agrees. The discussion led into a long and involved conversation of hacking fantasy epics into short tid bits, but I was told to still give the book a chance. For now though, I’ll continue eying it as I’ve found I have a growing affection towards Nancy Drew.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



