Adventures in Reading


Must… Resist… Buying…
April 9, 2008, 1:33 pm
Filed under: thoughtful | Tags:

So far so good on the not purchasing books front. It has been very close mind you, but what I have found helpful is the hold shelf at work. One of the perks of being a worker bee is that a special hold area is allowed for our future purchases. Depending on various factors, a book can be placed on hold for two weeks to a month, but the section is seldom bothered with and books being held can almost have an indefinite status. I made a deal with myself after nearly giving into an impulse purchase of a three volume set of Susannah Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. That is, I’ll put the item on the hold shelf and if I still really want it two to four weeks later I will reconsider purchasing it (or putting it on the shelf or putting it on hold again). Ultimately, I said no to this particular three volume set.

However, one book has had my mouth watering for nearly a year: Brewer’s Dictionary of Fable, Myth, and Phrase. In short, a dictionary containing all of those wonderous literary and poetic words and phrases and the current edition also includes a fabulous introduction by Terry Pratchett. I’m doing my best to simply include it on my list of demands for my birthday, but it is so tempting.

2 Comments

my hard back copy of JS&MN has your name on it if you’d liked it. I have attempted a couple times to read it and its just not happening. Just remind me next time we get together so I don’t forget.

Comment by Mys Ebrel

Mys Ebrel: Thanks for the offer but I might pass. I’m really, really trying to resist getting more books and am actually shortly on my way to sell 2 1/2 boxes of books this afternoon.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



