Adventures in Reading


I Bought A Book!

I simply could not stop myself. Borders recently had a 40% off coupon available and I had been eying the latest edition of Garner’s Modern American Usage. I could not resist indulging with that discount especially because the book is normally (even used through Amazon) fairly expensive. For those of you unfamiliar with Garner’s or Fowler’s, these are usage guides that at first glance look somewhat like dictionaries but are designed to explain contemporary usage of words and phrases. It’s where you learn that “zeitgeist” no longer needs a capital “Z,” but Xmas does need a capital “X.” You might be surprised how handy this reference tool can be.

I have another confession to make though: I bought two books. I purchased Barron’s Spanish Idioms. Idoms are often particular to one language and can be difficult to translate. I have to admit that I’m not really beating myself up too much over either of these splurges. Both of these are reference books and I’ve already made good use of them.

2 Comments

I want that first book!

Comment by Claire C. Cake

Claire C. Cake: Somehow I knew you would love that. ;) It’s laid out in almost mini-essays and I’ve been enjoying reading through it here and there at random.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



