Adventures in Reading


The Fairy Godmother by Mercedes Lackey

For a long time I have considered myself a fan of fantasy, though truth be known I am more a fan of Terry Pratchett who is considered a fantasy author. From time to time, I get the urge to strike out into new fantastical geographies and most recently, I stumbled across Mercedes Lackey’s Five Hundred Kingdoms series. This series is Lackey’s exploration of western classical fairytales, but rather than simply retelling the story, Lackey grasps the source at the root.

In the world of Five Hundred Kingdoms is The Tradition or “The way that magic tries to set things on a particular course […] And there are dozens and dozens of […] tales that The Tradition is trying to recreate, all the time, and perhaps one in a hundred actually becomes a tale.” In The Fairy Godmother Witches, Hedge-Wizards, Sorcerers, Sorceresses but particularly Godmothers and Wizards herd this power. Like shepherds finding sheep, when a Godmother observes a story unfolding she will recommend (with a few nudges and prods) the story towards a correct or better direction.

Elena Klovis was born to be a Cinderella, but once her eighteenth birthday passes and no prince has appeared her story begins to follow another course. Her stepfamily leaves town because of outstanding debts and Godmother Bella appears in town to recruit Elena. From here, The Fairy Godmother follows Elena through her training, her involvement in fairy tales, and finally a romantic tryst with a Champion that breaks and smashes all the established rules of The Tradition.

The Fairy Godmother is a fun book and the first in what looks to be a promising series exploring fairy tales and possibly how to break them. I did find the book in parts too long and a little too detailed. The risk of retelling known stories, no matter how delightful a fashion, is that your reader is already familiar with the tale and usually the outcome and thus I found myself scanning the last thirty pages or so. In addition, Lackey seemed to have many ideas for The Fairy Godmother that could have spilled over into a second book. Lackey definitely incorporates ideas and themes from the romance genre into this book, which I am not such a fan of. [1]

I enjoyed my adventures with Mercedes Lackey’s The Fairy Godmother, it was a pleasant book, and I am looking forward to picking up the second book in the series One Good Knight for more light reading. It also feels good to spread my fledging fantasy wings a bit more.

[1] There is nothing wrong with sex, violence, “bad words,” etc. in a book if it serves a purpose and makes sense. But (as with The Fairy Godmother) if it can be removed and doesn’t detract from the story, I find it superfluous and more often than not a bit ridiculous.

My review on One Good Knight.

12 Comments

[…] curiosity was peeked with The Fairy Godmother and I quickly found myself scanning the library shelves to pick up the next title in Mercedes […]

Pingback by One Good Knight by Mercedes Lackey « Adventures in Reading

[…] It was actually seeing this book released in mass market that encouraged my interest in reading The Fairy Godmother and One Good Knight. Usually I try to avoid reviews of books I’m currently reading or just about […]

Pingback by Fortune’s Fool by Mercedes Lackey « Adventures in Reading

This sounds like an interesting book. Thank you for the great post!

Comment by Alessandra

Sounds interesting :)

Comment by Becky

I wanted to let you know that you own a prize at the Bookworms Carnival. Come and see!

Comment by Nymeth

It’s funny how they lump Pratchett and Gaiman into the fantasy genre. They’re two of my favorite authors, but they somehow seem to transcend the traditional fantasy model. Some forms of fantasy are just not my cup of tea and when it heads into traditional romance scenarios, I’m done.

Comment by Tasses

That sounds like an interesting series; I haven’t read any of Mercedes Lackey’s books.
Visiting from the Bookworms’ Carnival :)

Comment by Maree

I’ve yet to read my only Mercedes Lackey book (Firebird, I think) but this one seems to be a good read.

Oh well, I agree with you on Pratchett. And I love him a lot too! Hahaha!

Comment by Lightheaded

Interesting review! I might have to check out this book. I haven’t heard of it before but I like the different plot line. Have you read Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series?

Comment by Amanda

I admit I am not a fantasy fan but your review made this book sound very interesting, might have to check it out:)

Comment by bookroomreviews

This sounds like an interesting book and worth a look – great carnival entry!

Comment by Mrs S | Blue Archipelago

Sounds interesting, but probably not my type of book. Nice, thorough review.

Comment by Rebecca Reid




Comments are closed.



