Adventures in Reading


Fat Girl & City of Widows

Some of my readers familiar with me from former blogging escapades may be a bit shocked that when I checked out Dewey‘s latest Weekly Geeks blog post I found myself stumped. Pick a political or social issue of interest and throw out some books related to it. As someone who has always considered myself quite politically active and aware, I was embarrassed with myself for lack of ideas!

I always believed that at a certain age all of my misgivings and poor attitudes directed at my body would disappear. Once all of that high school awkwardness melted away and if nothing else I would finally at the very least be comfortable with myself. How wrong I was. Judith Moore’s Fat Girl is her memoir growing up fat in a world that not only berated her but also taught her to be unhappy with herself. Moore does not extend solutions and Fat Girl is a wry and fierce commentary that at least made me feel less alone.

City of Widows by Haifa Zangana is a refreshing account of the historical and current experience of women in Iraq. Coming out in the midst of memoir after memoir exploring women’s experiences in the Middle East and with Muslim, City of Widows provided a refreshing exploration of the various women rights oriented groups that have existed throughout Iraq. Zangana strongly criticizes what current occupation has cost the hard fought successes of these groups.

2 Comments

I’d love to read Fat Girl. Nice choice of books!

Comment by Alessandra

[…] Books)44. Shonda45. lupingirl46. Brandi @ Project Brandi47. Sally90648. C Woods49. Teddy Rose50. Adventures in Reading51. Tiny Librarian52. raidergirl353. Sue54. Joanna55. J. Kaye’s Book Blog56. Yvonne […]

Pingback by Themed Reading Challenge – 2009 – INFO & SIGN UPS – caribousmom




Comments are closed.



