Adventures in Reading


Bookends
June 1, 2008, 10:01 am
Filed under: thoughtful | Tags: , , , , ,

A few weeks ago I started the second great attempt at cataloging my personal library. For those of you unfamiliar with my book recording attempts, last fall I was roughly half way through my collection when there was a fire in my apartment building. My apartment had severe water damage and by some crazy fluke of luck we only lost about a dozen books. Now using BookDB, as GoodReads or LibraryThing are somewhat useless without home Internet, I am a quarter of the way through the nonfiction books. Ideally I am doing this in part in case there would ever be other future book endangerment and though I have sworn it would never happen my mind is finally having troubles when it comes to recalling what books I own.

From BookPage America’s Book Review there was an interesting though brief “interview” with Stephanie Meyer. I have never read any of Meyer’s books but most recently have felt the deluge of complaints that resulted from The Host. Probably not what you think, but many Meyer fans became very accustomed to the young adult price tag on Meyer’s books and were in for a rude awakening with her latest adult science-fiction novel. I must confess when Meyer’s says “It’s a science fiction novel that doesn’t feel like science fiction…” I inwardly cringed and stepped even farther away from wanting to read her. Something about comments such as these always gets under my skin.

Comments Off on Bookends





Comments are closed.



