Adventures in Reading


Revisited: Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

Prior to Adventures in Reading, I had started writing the odd review/summary. Now to try and gather them all to one location and to compensate for my loss of reading time with my Spanish course, I’m going to post the old reviews and revisit them. I’ve commented before that my opinions of the books are always quite biased to the time of writing, and so I’m also looking at this as a project of my own opinion.

My second Roddy Doyle read and it was no less impressive than the first. Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha is the story of a 10-year-old boy growing up in Ireland. His experiences range from boyhood friendships to the classroom to his parent’s domestic disputes. Doyle is immensely talented and consistently manages to embrace his characters and represent them in a nearly too real fashion. Paddy Clarke not only feels like it’s a story of a 10-year-old boy but is specifically narrated by a 10-year-old boy and by the end of the book one has to wonder “Doyle, who’s he?” Doyle’s narrative is addicting and moving and I had to have spent half the book asking people, “Do you remember when…” A definite must read for everyone.

I have adored everything that I’ve read by Roddy Doyle and since Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha I’ve read his chapter in Click and his short story collection The Deportees. While I’m not sure if I would call it a “must read” in retrospect, I would say Doyle is an author everyone should read at least once in a lifetime. His novels are funny and engaging, and my collection is steadily growing.

Other opinions: Nymeth.

4 Comments

I’m currently reading/not reading this :) I mean, when I remember that I haven’t gone past half of the story I pick it up and continue the thread. Then forget it again for like days until I remember again.

Tsk tsk tsk, it seems I’m acting like a ten year old with symptoms of attention deficit disorder :) Hopefully I get to finish this soon.

Comment by Lightheaded

This is the only book by Roddy Doyle I’ve read, it’s good to hear his others are as good. I’ve got The Deportees in the TBR pile, so must read it.

Comment by adevotedreader

Lightheaded: Sometimes reading just gets like that. I know last month that it took me ages to get through one book and anything and everything did distract me. But I would definitely stick with Doyle.

Adevotedreader: I just found out yesterday Doyle has another book due out this fall titled Her Mother’s Face. I am very much looking forward to this.

Comment by bookchronicle

I came across this title while reading a review of Black Swan Green. The reviewer drew similarities between these two books, and since I enjoyed Black Swan Green, I figured I should pick this one up someday, too.

Comment by charley




Comments are closed.



