Adventures in Reading


Revisted: The Sisters Grimm: The Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

The first in the addictive and adorable Sisters Grimm series, The Fairy-Tale Detectives provides the “abandoned” background of the sisters, how they wound up with their grandmother, their discovery of the fairy-tale characters, and all playing out while a giant is on the loose. Part of my growing warmth for the series is in response to a children’s book offering some great female leads and particularly within the sci-fi/fantasy genre. An excellent series for anyone who has loved “fairy tales.”

I definitely have a hang up on finding fun, warm, intelligent, though imperfect female characters in children’s and young adult’s books. I was discussing at work yesterday that I think I read less when I was a child than I really thought I did and especially once I hit the junior high years. I don’t think this had anything to do with lack of encouragement (my mother was a librarian for some years). In retrospect, I wonder if I just had a difficult time finding books with protagonists I identified with (something oddly enough I don’t care about in my adult reading). After all, a girl can only read Harriet the Spy so many times.

And also reviewed at Beyond Books and Book Nut.

1 Comment

Just read and reviewed this myself and I loved it. Never read Harriet the Spy but I went through my Mum’s collections of Nancy Drew, Trixi Beldin and Bobsey Twins. I followed the Nancy Drew (revived) series in the early 90s where they tried to make her more modern. I liked the covers more than the books though. And the Fear Street series was pretty girl-oriented, though a little more thrilling than just a mystery.

I would have eaten this series up in a second if it had come out when I was 7 or 8!

Comment by Cat




Comments are closed.



