Adventures in Reading


Weekly Geeks: Challenges
June 24, 2008, 1:04 pm
Filed under: thoughtful | Tags:

Another round of Weekly Geeks is on the way and for this lovely week of June bloggers are tasked with reflecting and organizing our challenges. If you have spend any time on book blogs or blogging yourself you’re undoubtedly aware of the myriad of challenges that encourage people to tackle literary genres, specific authors, world literature, etc. Last year my challenge was to read 100 books in the year, though I unfortunately fell short at 99.

This year though I’ve had a bit more of a personal challenge: clearing shelf 2008! Acquiring books can be quite the serious addition and a la Mercedes Lackey’s “book wyrms” I have found myself with heaping piles of treasure that spill into every nook and cranny. Though not glittering jewels or nuggets of gold, my treasure are the hundreds of books lining my shelves and floor. It was a slow start to this year but I have encouraged myself to read more of the books I already own, and this has only been prodded with my recent Bookmooching. Over at Overdue Books, there’s a similar challenge happening. Below are some of the books I own and that I finally got around to reading this year (please pardon the disorder).

3 Comments

I pride myself on not being a packrat, including book collections. I’m half way through a move right now and, despite almost bragging that I’m perhaps the only voracious reader that doesn’t want a personal library, I’ve probably already shipped about 5 huge boxes of books that are still waiting to be read. I blame used book sales.

By the way, of your list, I’ve read Fahrenheit 451, the Robber Bride, and Long Fatal Love Chase. The 1st I loved, the 2nd was funny but not my favourite Atwood, and the 3rd, well, the less I say about that one the better.

Comment by John Mutford

I just read Fahrenheit 451 this month and fell in love with it. Hope you enjoyed it! I am doing an awful time in trying to read what i have though. it is way to easy for me to reserve new stuff from the library!

Comment by Melanie

John: I aspire to be less of a pack rat myself, but it can definitely be difficult to part with a much loved book. Book sales can be very dangerous places and especially at my local one when they have bag sale days.

Melanie: I enjoyed Fahrenheit 451 but must confess it doesn’t seem nearly as much as others enjoy the book. I keep promising myself I will stop reserving things at the library, but then Murakami comes out with a new one and here I am breaking my promise!

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



