Adventures in Reading


Revisted Reviews: All Quiet on the Western Front by Remarque

All Quiet on the Western Front provides a glimpse into World War I from the German’s perspective. My favorite aspect of the book was that at no point did it glorify war, which is something I tend to find problematic in film adaptations of war. Brilliant piece though it’s disheartening as one of the classes from the local high school are reading it for school – to say the least from my experience with them at work, I don’t think they’re as nearly excited about it as I am.

Another knock at high school lit! I suppose I ought to start commenting on reading suggestions and abstain from overly criticizing every book high school student reads. All Quiet on the Western Front is an amazing war novel (though I couldn’t entirely sit through the film adaptation) that is touching and challenging. It’s a novel that invites the reader to inquire after the other side and define what if any differences exist. At least from the snippets of overheard conversations I’ve experienced, this is another novel many high school students seem to cringe at.

5 Comments

I first read and was impressed by this in high school. I must re-read it soon.

Comment by adevotedreader

adevotedreader: Definitely a fabulous book and I wish more current high schoolers (at least in my experience) felt the same. Since summer reading began all I’ve heard is a regular trickle of “I don’t like reading.” Then I resist the urge to rip their iPod headphones from their ears and hit them over the head with a Tolstoy.

Comment by bookchronicle

I read this in high school and thought it was an amazing book. I think it’s a definite must-read for anyone. And you are right, I like that it doesn’t glamorize war. And I loved that it was from the German side perspective.

Comment by Amanda

This has always been one of those ‘Do I read it or do I Wikipedia it and pretend that I read it?’ Guess I’ll hold off the Wiki for now.

Comment by raych

Raych: Definitely worth a read and avoid the movie!

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



