Adventures in Reading


Challenge: R.I.P. III
August 26, 2008, 12:21 pm
Filed under: challenges | Tags: , ,

Because if I don’t participate in this challenge apparently I will be the only blogger that doesn’t. (Seriously, all of my favorite bloggers are doing it so why not me?) And also because this neatly ties into an upcoming round of Bookworms Carnival of the Literary Gothic over at Becky’s Book Reviews.

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein
Anne Radcliffe’s The Mysteries of Udolpho
Bram Stoker’s Dracula
& for some lighter reading Christopher Moore’s A Dirty Job

12 Comments

No sense rocking the boat! Seriously though, I’m honored to have you. I certainly like hosting a no pressure challenge and hope you have fun with it.

Comment by Carl V.

I only just read Frankenstein last year, and I looooved it. So much more than I ever expected to. Now if I can just get through the rest of Dracula.

Comment by Andi

[…] Pool 44. Kailana’s Pool 45. Jessica’s Pool 46. Pardon My French’s Pool 47. Bookchronicle’s Pool 48. Marineko’s Pool 49. Kristina’s Pool 50. Moo’s Pool 51. Jeff’s Pool 52. […]

Pingback by Stainless Steel Droppings » Blog Archive » Something R.I.P.ing This Way Comes…for a third time.

I like your classics approach. I re-read Frankenstein last year for the challenge and it was even better the second time around. And I really should read Dracula again one of these days…it’s been far too long.

Comment by Nymeth

I read both Dracula and Frankenstein years ago and remember how much I enjoyed both. Happy reading!

Comment by Stephanie

Carl V.: Thanks for hosting the challenge and I’m definitely looking forward to participating.

Andi: I confess I have not been partial to Frankenstein in the past, but I’m hoping a reread this fall season will give me some new inspiration.

Nymeth: Ever since my Jane Austen binge I admit I’ve been neglecting the classics, but it’s time to turn that around and I’m prepared to indulge! I’ve never read Dracula myself, so I’m looking forward to giving it a go.

Stephanie: Thank you for the sentiments!

Comment by bookchronicle

I just downloaded a copy of Ann Radcliffe’s book from Project Gutenberg and will probably add it to my pool.

Dracula is indeed lovely.

Comment by Lightheaded

I’m gonna have to join this one, too. Just don’t want to commit yet. I’ve heard great things about Dracula!! Frankenstein was just OK for me. Have fun!!

Comment by Trish

You have inspired me to read Mysteries of Udolpho for the season! Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I wil be interested to read about your views on it also and will be watching for your post.

Cheers, Laurel Ann

Comment by Laurel Ann

Nice choices! This is the second list I’ve seen A Dirty Job on, so I’m off to look that one up…

Comment by Quixotic

We’re sharing Frankenstein and Dracula. I am curious to read your review of Udolpho — I’ll keep that in mind for next year!

Comment by Pardon_My_French

Lightheaded and Laurel Ann: This will actually be my second attempt to read Udolpho. I read it on the heels of Jane Austen (thanks to Northanger Abbey and I think it was a bit of an overdose of period literature. But I’ll be very interested in seeing what the two of you think of the novel as well!

Quixotic: I admit it’s on the list because I got it for .25 at the library book sale. I’ve heard great things about Christopher Moore as a good and humorous writer, and with the other three novels I’ve selected I thought I might need a break!

Pardon My French: I’m thrilled to hear so many others are also reading Frankenstein and Dracula. I also just saw that you read Mort – definitely one of my favorite Pratchett books.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



