Adventures in Reading


Bookends: Young Adult Fiction

I’m not sure of the etymological root of the idea of “young adult” and entirely oblivious to such attachment to “young adult fiction/literature/books.” In the libraries and bookstores of my youth, which wasn’t so long ago, it didn’t exist. Any such materials were found in the children’s department curiously enough along with many “classic” works of literature. [1] It would be nice to think that “young adult” has an altruistic interpretation and some lone librarian or bookstore clerk thought: “My, it can be tricky finding things to read between the ages of thirteen to eighteen. Let’s give them a hand!” But I’ve got a cynical streak and think it has more to do with marketing and advertising and a young adult population with credit cards.

But what exactly is young adult literature? Obviously, books targeted at young adults or teenagers. But what does that mean? In my store, young adult is described as being largely at the same reading level of most children’s books but are often more morally ambiguous and increasingly dealing with sex or sexuality and drugs and how these pertain to young adulthood.

As I did not grow up in a time with a “young adult section,” I made the leap that most readers also had to make: children’s books into adult reading material. I moved from the Babysitter’s Club and Goosebumps into Terry Pratchett, Melissa Banks, and the novel The Archivist.

My last two books were The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti and Mexican High by Liza Monroy. Both are recently published books written featuring adolescent protagonists. However, both books are also located within adult fiction and after reading them I am curious why they are not listed as young adult. The most obvious answers I’ve found are that perhaps Tinti and Monroy don’t consider themselves young adult authors or perhaps don’t want to be considered young adult writers. Considering the recent young adult market with Meyer and Paolini, it’s not really such bad company.

The Good Thief in particular struck me as an odd novel to place in adult fiction. Ren a one-armed pre-teen/tween, is taken from an orphanage to live the life of a thief. Excepting perhaps one sentence [2] there is nothing questionable and though a Catholic netting exists over the book, I don’t find it anything so complex that the average young adult reader couldn’t plow through it. On the ARC copy, Tinti’s book is compared to Robert Louis Stevenson (twice) and the “children’s literature” of Twain and Dickens. All works more or less inhabiting the world of children. [3]

Liza Monroy’s Mexican High is a story of Mila’s senior year of high school after being uprooted to Mexico City. Mila deals with the usual teenage novel problems, boyfriends and homework, but in the crazy world of Mexico City. Though sex is never detailed it is happening, but I can’t imagine worse than any of the Clique or Gossip Girls novels. Monroy provides a nice exploration of Mexican history and culture with a spattering of Spanish words and phrases. While a book I greatly enjoyed after concluding it I left with a “young adult feel.”

The lines between children’s literature, young adult literature, and adult literature are increasingly graying and the only area that truly stands out in stark contrast is the price tag: expect new, adult hardcovers to have an additional $10 slapped on to it.

[1] Seriously, every time I pass Finnegan’s Wake in the children’s area of the library I lose an ounce of faith in the institution.

[2] A reference to post-sex smells and perhaps it’s simply my street gutter mind making something of it.

[3] Perhaps not originally so, but certainly existing firmly in the world of the children’s tradition now.

7 Comments

In the libraries and bookstores of my youth, which wasn’t so long ago, it didn’t exist.

My friend is actually the Young Adult Librarian for a library in New Jersey (http://cmclibraryteens.blogspot.com/), but he seems to take a very hands-on approach to getting teens interested in the library with not only books, but also movies, video games, homework help etc. Now I’m curious what he feels the “young adult” section actually is.

Comment by Claire C. Cake

Claire C. Cake: Thanks for the comment and especially a link, and that’s great that he’s using such a diverse grouping of the arts to target teens.

Comment by bookchronicle

Yes, it’s a very progressive library, too. I believe he said they want his input on this whole eco-conscious renovation they’re going to be undertaking, too. I think you’d get along with him very well — oh, and have I mentioned his wife has her degree in women’s studies and is planning to seek education in midwifery? Yeah, groovy.

Comment by Claire C. Cake

As a former middle/high school English/Language Arts teacher, I think there’s a line even between YA and teen books. In my experience, YA tends to be targeted at ages 10-14, teen at 14-18. Have I made up that line?

Comment by Jena

Jena: I wouldn’t say you’ve made that line up at all and I suppose to some degree we have similar variations at work, but we tend to go straight from independent reader into young adult. Our line is definitely not distinct in anyway, but is more a judgment call on the kid’s reading level and interest as well as what the parent is willing to allow the kid to read. Most of the books though are dumped into young adult, though.

What are some books that you have set aside for 10-14 versus 14-18? I would be very interested to hear.

Comment by bookchronicle

oops… apparently I forgot to close my links… sorry ’bout that.

Comment by Jena




Comments are closed.



