Adventures in Reading


Fiction: Juniper by Monica Furlong
September 18, 2008, 11:52 am
Filed under: book reviews, fiction | Tags: , , , , ,

“The night I was born, according to my nurse, Erith, was a night of black frost and dense darkness in a bitter January.”

Juniper is the prequel to Monica Furlong’s book Wise Child and tells the story of Juniper, Wise Child’s mentor and local doran (or witch/shaman/healer), who was a princess turned doran. Juniper is born into a life of wealth and privilege but during her adolescents she leaves this world for the environment of her godmother Euny. Euny, also a doran, trains Juniper who ultimately returns to her kingdom to heal it and to find her own power.

Part of my enjoyment of reading Monica Furlong’s books is Furlong herself. Though now deceased, she had a fascinating life. Juniper is an interesting read exploring certain thematic issues of jealousy and power, and particularly when these pertain to the place of women within this world. Juniper’s aunt, happens to be an enchantress (e.g. one of the bad guys), but we learn that her aunt (as well as Juniper) are displaced as rightful heirs to the throne because of the birth of a male child. Juniper is a lovely book and I’m excited to start reading Colman the sequel to Wise Child.

Conclusion: Returned to library.

4 Comments

I read (and loved) Juniper when I was in grade school without ever knowing that it was a prequel. I finally picked up Wise Child a few years ago and liked it, although it didn’t have the rosy childhood associations. I didn’t know there was a sequel… I’ll have to see if I can find it – it’ll give me a good excuse to re-read the whole series! Thanks for the review!

Comment by fyreflybooks

Fyreflybooks: I confess my envy that you were introduced to Furlong as a child. While I’ve certainly enjoyed the trilogy as an adult, it must have been a wonder experience to read her books as a child.

Comment by bookchronicle

Both Wise Child and Juniper sound like good titles to look up, if I ever have light to read by again. It sounds like you have power as of yesterday. Lucky you!

Comment by Jeanne

Jeanne: Definitely a great trilogy and also one to keep in mind especially if you have kid’s in your life ever needing presents. We did finally get electricity back after I whined enough about it. ;)

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



