Adventures in Reading


Fiction: Colman by Monica Furlong
September 21, 2008, 11:02 am
Filed under: book reviews, fiction | Tags: , , , ,

“Four of us escaped on Finbar’s ship after Juniper’s trial as a witch–Juniper, Wise Child, Corman, and me.”

Concluding Monica Furlong’s trilogy, Colman continues the story of Wise Child through the eyes of Colman, Wise Child’s cousin. Upon returning to Juniper’s homeland, the cast of characters are confronted with an impoverished population being brutalized by Juniper’s nemesis from Juniper. Though only children, Colman and Wise Child are called upon to perform tasks that will help reestablish Juniper’s home to its former glory and ensure that Juniper’s brother is crowned king.

I didn’t care for Colman nearly as much as I did for Juniper and Wise Child. While it does a great job concluding the trilogy overall, I wasn’t taken with Colman as a narrator and found him to be rather tedious. I’ve not read enough of Furlong to really comment, but she seems to be more comfortable writing in a female rather than a male voice. It’s a worthwhile book for any fan of the trilogy, but I left it feeling less satisfied than I had with the previous two.

Conclusion: Returned to library.

2 Comments

Ah, that’s a shame. I’ll still probably track it down and read it, though, if only for the excuse to re-read the first two.

Comment by fyreflybooks

Fyreflybooks: I do admit that Colman may be a book I warm to with time, but I was not too impressed with it on my first read.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



