Adventures in Reading


Bookends: Adventures in Reading
September 22, 2008, 11:30 am
Filed under: maintenance, thoughtful | Tags: , ,

I’m “posting” this on September 18th though it won’t show up for a few days. But since September 14th I’ve had no electricity, which hasn’t been too bad but definitely has some frustrations: no laptop use for writing papers, no well-lit areas to read, and cooking in the dark has resulted in a lot of unnecessary eating out. Hopefully by the time this post appears that magic wand of electricity will touch the circuits of my humble abode.

Blog wise a lot has been going on at Adventures in Reading: the layout has been tweaked with a new banner I am particularly taken with, I’ve poorly utilized Flickr to display some of the books I’ve read, I’ve hooked up an RSS feed to display some of my favorite posts (see if you’re on the list!), my Links have been moved to a separate page for the sake of tidiness, and I also had a brief mad bout of trying to link my reviews to other reviews with a modicum of success.

7 Comments

I find it interesting that you’re using flickr to display your books. Have you ever explored much at librarything.com?

Comment by Christine

Christine: I do frequent LibraryThing, however, I have yet to find a widget for a free WordPress account that utilizes L.T.

Comment by bookchronicle

I’ve heard from other bloggers that there is no Librarything widget that works with wordpress :/ That always makes me think twice whenever I get so annoyed with blogger than I consider a change (and that happens often enough).

The banner is great!

Comment by Nymeth

There is one; the main difference is that it links to your catalogue instead of to amazon. But it still does the random books & all that.

http://www.librarything.com/blog/2006/12/graphical-widgets-for-lj-and-etc-first.php

Comment by Christine

Nymeth: WordPress’s limited widgets is my only real grievance with the site, but a big enough grievance that if I didn’t have a year of blogging here I would consider switching. My fingers are definitely crossed that something will become available soon. And thanks for the compliments! I was looking for something less sterile/serious.

Comment by bookchronicle

Christine: Very true Christine and it’s one of the downsides of WordPress as the site does not allow any open source information to be added. So, if WP does not have a predesigned Widget there’s little one can do. I’m not partial to the Flickr link myself, but it’s a start at least!

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



