Adventures in Reading


Stupid Things I Do
October 13, 2008, 11:00 am
Filed under: thoughtful | Tags:

I was cordially reminded by a friend that I have a goodreads account, and I decided to explore it a bit prior to investing in Librarything. In a complete act of stupidity I paid no attention and clicked through some of the opening information and managed to send a goodreads request to everyone I have ever e-mailed!!! On the good side, a ton of people have signed up. On the bad side, I have a ton of e-mails along the lines of WTF?

6 Comments

That’s shady, and from what I’ve heard, way too easy to do accidentally. That’s the kind of thing that will almost immediately turn me off of a company/site.

Comment by fyreflybooks

LOL, I need to go friend you right now!

Comment by Andi

I didn’t like Goodreads at first but was pressured from my family to join. I’m going to start using it to catalog all the books I own that I still need to read.

Comment by Ashotick

After LT I’m way too busy to keep up with anything else. But I have done pretty well spreading the news of good reads (good books) by word of the mouth! :)

Comment by Matthew

Ha! Yeah, I got two “Let’s compare books!” requests from you. I’m glad they were a mistake, though, because I’m not a fan of signing up for random things — y’know, besides LJ, FaceBook, MySpace, LinkedIn, Blogger, WordPress… Ah, that’s depressing.

Comment by Claire C. Cake

fyreflybooks: It was most definitely annoying. While my friends and family tolerate my stupidity, I was pretty embarrassed to see how many professors and professional contacts I have listed.

Ashotick: I admit, that at first glance I prefer Goodreads layout. Thus far the big downside has been the page never loads properly or works well when I have time to log in.

Comment by bookchronicle




Comments are closed.



