Adventures in Reading


Short Stories: More Best American Short Stories 2008

Best: x American: x Short: 21 Story: x
From Ploughshares, Allegra Goodman’s “Closely Held” is a cross-section exposing a particular step into adulthood. Within these moments the protagonist Orion reflects on his girlfriend, his friends turned distant business partners, and on a computer business that prospectively will make him a ridiculously wealthy man. The second first person narrative in the collection, “Closely Held” holds Orion at a place when all of his options in life are still available.

I was excited to read Goodman’s comments that this story, and another it “piggy-backed” on, is possibly leading to a novel. “Closely Held” reads as an out-of-breath encounter and I watched Orion hesitatingly revealing his world. I confess a personal attraction to the story as I find myself at a similar juncture in my own life where I need to finally begin considering the Big Decisions of Life. Well-written and intriguing, it’s a great story for the collection.

Best: x American: x Short: 13.5 Story: x
From Granta, A.M. Homes’ “May We Be Forgiven” is the story of two brothers. The younger brother George is involved in a car accident killing three passengers and he begins to fall apart. Their wives encourage the older brother to move into George’s home to help his wife while George is in a mental ward.

The moment I finished this story I began reading it again, and, like Goodman’s story, “May We Be Forgiven” may be expanded into a novel. Homes describes the story as “unfinished” and reading the story it’s ready to burst with complexity. I was surprised by the honesty and violence in the story.

Best: x American: x Short: 11 Story: x
From Harper’s Magazine, Nicole Krauss’ “From the Desk of Daniel Varsky” is perhaps my favorite story so far in the collection. Starting from the idea on the effects of living a life amongst someone else’s furniture, “From the Desk of Daniel Varsky” is the story of a man and poet who returns to Chile and is destroyed by Pinochet. But this story is told through a woman who briefly encountered Daniel and is caring for his furniture in New York.

On a Post-It I wrote that I “love, love, love this.” Krauss has a great interplay of themes from the poetic to the political to the personal. The story is suggestively unveiled, but all around this concrete and peculiarly crafted desk.

Comments Off on Short Stories: More Best American Short Stories 2008





Comments are closed.



