Adventures in Reading


I need a new book bag
October 20, 2008, 10:28 am
Filed under: thoughtful | Tags: , , ,

For years now I have toted everything from groceries to books and laptops to clothes in my beloved Rosie the Riveter canvas bag. I inherited this from my sister, but it is so dilapidated (holes, ink stains, a very faded Rosie, and the lingering smell of “winter”) I need to look into something new.

I’m still considering simply replacing it with another canvas bag; however, there were also various problems I had with everything collecting loose in the bottom.

So bookish comrades: What (if any) type of “carrier” do you use to carry your book related luggage?

5 Comments

I’ve been a faithful patron to Timbuk messenger bag, which is made locally in San Francisco. My first one lasted for 7 years, traveling to many cornners of the world. The canvas lining and waterproof material render the bag very endurable. I retired the bag and replace it with one that has bigger capacity and has a padded compartment for laptop.

Comment by Matthew

First, I’m not normally a meme tagger, but in this case, I’m making an exception. For your instructions, should you choose to accept them, click here.

Second, and more importantly, you’re a winner of a free book. For more on that, click here.

Third, whenever I go to the library, I use an old gym bag, but ours is a smalltown library and they don’t seem to mind (or think that I have guns in it a la The Matrix). I like the Rosie the Riveter bag, though, better and wouldn’t mind using that if I had the chance.

Comment by unfinishedperson

There’s the Unshelved “Contains Printed Matter” messenger bag:
http://www.unshelved.com/store.aspx?cat=bags#CPMBag

Personally, I just use a canvas bag I got at a conference years ago, even though it’s old and not that big and stained with red dye 40 from a soda spill.

Comment by fyreflybooks

I carry my books and journal in a shoulder/messenger bag. It has a small zippered pocket in the front for pens, coins, etc. It was a lucky find at Goodwill.

Comment by Ashotick

i carry a Durtbag, (www.durtbagz.com). Water-resistant, a 50″ adjustable strap, and five extra pockets to keep things organized. And, they’re a wee bit entertaining.

Comment by durtbagz




Comments are closed.



