Adventures in Reading


New Jane Austen Book Covers
September 19, 2007, 6:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Of all the things I could run across at work today I was pleasantly surprised when I saw nearly a cart full of Jane Austen novels with new covers (or at least new to me)! I have posted before about my love for book jackets and I will say these may be my favorite Austen covers that I have ever seen (the spines of the book are quite attractive too and these seem to be a fairly inexpensive edition). Enjoy this selection from the Vintage Classic Series:

 

 

 


9 Comments

This is great! I was doing a little tag surfing and saw this and being that I’m a closet Austen groupie I got that faint tingle in my toes. That Manga looks killer. I’m glad I tag surfed here.

Comment by bibliomom

Emma is not based off of Jane Austin. It’s the story of a orphaned maid who falls in love with a rich guy.

Comment by andrewreadscomics

I stand corrected on the Emma manga. Thank you.

Comment by bookchronicle

Oh, yes, these are lovely covers.

Comment by Ms. Place

[…] they echo the film posters for P&P05 and Becoming Jane. Also, the Adventures in Reading blog posted new covers for the Vintage Classics Series editions that are taken from period fashion plates. We like those very much, even though the periods […]

Pingback by AustenBlog . . . she’s everywhere » Friday Bookblogging: How Many Janes Do You Have? Edition

I’ve never read her works, but I’m familar with “Pride & Prejudice”. I prefer the true story behind “Pride & Prejudice”.

Comment by Oscar Valdez

Oscar, what do you mean by the true story?

Comment by bookchronicle

[…] Austen’s novels with EXCELLENT covers depicting regency fashion illustrations (see the blog Adventures in Reading for a look at all the covers and here at Amazon.com to purchase, and also at RandomHouse.ca for […]

Pingback by Adventures Befalling a Janeite in Chicago… « Jane Austen in Vermont

I’m looking for a picture of the cover of Pride and prejudice from the Penguin English Library – it was part of a box set in the seventies.

Comment by Christine




Comments are closed.