Adventures in Reading


222 Days & the Man Booker Prize
July 30, 2009, 12:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It has been 222 days since my last post: I’ve got a new job, a new hair color, a new outlook on life, and will shortly be moving to a new city.  I’ve definitely fallen off of the book radar so imagine my surprise while scanning the BBC’s website that it was already that time of year: the Man Booker Prize long list announcement. The Man Booker long list consistently promises phenomenal fiction reads from the UK, Ireland, and the Commonwealth and each year I find a new favorite from this list; last year it was Steve Toltz’s A Fraction of the Whole. The 2009 long list is:

  • AS Byatt’s The Children’s Book
  • JM Coetzee’s Summertime
  • Adam Foulds’ The Quickening Maze
  • Sarah Hall’s How to Paint a Dead Man
  • Samantha Harvey’s The Wilderness
  • James Lever’s Me Cheeta
  • Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall
  • Simon Mawer’s The Glass Room
  • Ed O’Loughlin’s Not Untrue and Not Unkind
  • James Scudamore’s Heliopolis
  • Colm Toibin’s Brooklyn
  • William Trevor’s Love and Summer
  • Sarah Water’s The Little Stranger

2 Comments

*waves* it’s good to hear from you. This year’s long list looks promising indeed. I’m currently reading The Children’s Book and I’m absolutely adoring it.

Comment by Nymeth

So glad to see you back! I’ve read none of these Booker prize prospects so far.

Comment by Jeanne




Comments are closed.